Additional actions:

Thumbnail
Nevertheless, she wore it : 50 iconic fashion moments [electronic resource] / Ann Shen
E-books | Chronicle Books LLC | 2020
Available at Online
close
see all

Items

Location Call No. Status
Online ONLINE
‚Äč Show fewer items
Drop Up Shadow

Details

Description
1 online resource
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
text file rda
Series
Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Summary
From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History! Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them. From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements. - Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change - Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style - Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their time Looks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority. With stunning and vibrant illustrations, this is a treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules. - An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power - Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness - You'll love this book if you love books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject
Added Author
hoopla digital.
ISBN
9781452184012 (electronic bk.)
1452184011 (electronic bk.)
Music No.
MWT14868290
Search Results
View in classic catalog View in classic catalog View MARC display View MARC display
Recently Added:
Loading Suggestions...
Back to top